• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Quick question about star grounding

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Jn2630,

I am a relative novice but have successfully built two amps. I did not use star grounding but my understanding is that you are correct in your statement. Having said this (and I don't really want to open the pandora's box of star vs BUS grounding) when I first considered building, star grounding seemed a little more complicated and so I went for a bus earth wire. Overall there is something very satisfying about bending and soldering thick copper wire and I must admit that the results spoke fr themselves with absolutely no hum or buzz whatsoever.

Cheers,

Rob

That will usually work, but sometimes your unit will not play well with others and a nasty ground loop can result. The best trick I've seen is to isolate the signal and power supply star from the chassis (safety ground still needs to go to chassis), then connect the two grounds with a groundbreaker consisting of two diodes in parallel, each facing the opposite way, then bypassed with a small (10nF or so) capacitor.

Here's how I do.  Bring all the audio circuit grounds to a single (star) point.  Short,thick bus will do.  Bring all the input and output signal grounds to another star point (I usually use a 12ga. bus across the back of the chassis).  Power supply grounds may be daisy-chained any old way, least amount of wire.

Bring a single wire from the biggest PS sink ground point (the output stage cap ground terminal, in a standard power amp supply) to the audio circuit star.  Bring another single wire from the input-output ground point to the audio circuit star.