• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

No Power to SSE amp on first power up attempt

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

So this is my first electronics project and I am an absolute beginner with all this stuff. I have spent the last couple months putting together George's Simple SE. tried to start my checkout today by metering between R4 and ground. When I turned the power bar on nothing happened. No voltage reading, no light, no smoke. I have two ideas of what it might be besides the fact that I have no idea what I am doing.

Firstly I purchased an on-on switch by accident. I may have wired this wrong. I wired the middle prong to the opt, and the bottom prong to the fused plug.

My other thought might be the empty sockets labeled D4, D3, and TR1. I saw in some other threads that these need diodes and a in-rush current limiter. Is that still the case?

Cheers,

Bassy

Attachments

• Amp 1.jpg
    Amp 1.jpg
    813.8 KB · Views: 122
  • Amp 2.jpg
    Amp 2.jpg
    746.6 KB · Views: 115
  • Amp 3.jpg
    Amp 3.jpg
    547.3 KB · Views: 120
Account Closed
Joined 2018
You're right.
You don't know what you're doing, and neither do I.
However, jumping into dangerous tasks like tube amps requires some education - from books, and learning the fundamental basics of electronics.
If you insist on skipping those mandatory lessons, good luck with that,

That switch with the main voltage in pictures 3 is dangerous. insulate that wires as minimum and mount the switch firmly. Also the big cap must be securely mounted.

Then check all the wiring with the schmeatics...