• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Voltage Regulator struggle...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm still trying to get a voltage regulator on my SSE. I'm now testing to see if the problem is with my amp. Is there any reason this set up wouldn't work? I can't seem to get any sound from the amp (aside from a small pop or two.)

I've tried rebuilding the entire amp with a new SSE board and I've replaced every single passive component (the one exception are the OPT's) and I still can't seem to make it work...

I don't see any problem with this set up, but I'm no expert. If this is a good set up my next step would be to rebuild it in the traditional manner and start from there (the sensible solution.) I just thought I'd try to see if I can get it to work like this before I install all the PSU components.

Thanks,
Glenn

Attachments

• Glenn SSE with TestSupply.png
    Glenn SSE with TestSupply.png
    234.3 KB · Views: 201
Thanks Jan...so I have tested the Voltage regulator and it works fine. I've included the set up Tom recommended for the regulator in this post. I had set up the regulator with a 20 volt test supply and with the regular power supply transformer too. Works like a champ!

I had problems getting the regulator working with the SSE, so Tom suggested that I try to determine if the problem was with my SSE. And sure enough, that seems to be the problem. It's too bad, it was working just fine before I tried to improve the sound (have you ever heard that one before?)