• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

TSEII with a Hybrid brigde?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello
I’m fairly new with tube amplifiers (built a few simple ones before)

I’ve just started assembling a TSEII and stupidly made some assumptions about the transformers I have available to me, I did have a search around the forums before I ordered everything(I already had the transformers) but you know how it is, you find the tricky posts beyond your ken after you have started to build it (I guess better than when you turn it on for the first time…..)

My power transformer has no CT and I was planning on doing a hybrid graetz bridge to get a ground to the star point on the board and the voltage required, it seems to sim fine in PSUD2

However, I’ve come across some posts from Tubelab warning against using protection diodes on the rectifier legs because it blocks the neg voltage supply.
The Diodes in a hybrid bridge are not configured the same way but I thought I’d better ask in case it still blocks the neg voltage supply, and if it is a problem? has anyone got a solution that preferably doesn’t involve a new power transformer? (Pretty hard to access down here at the best of times….)

Thanks (I’m sure I will have more stupid questions in the near future)
Vernon

Attachments

• HGB.jpg
    HGB.jpg
    102.3 KB · Views: 298
This solution does not have a path for current to flow in the negative voltage supply since neither end of the power transformer ever swings negative.