• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

After a 14 year run, the TSE must DIE!

I was reading a review on the Israel.......

I never put much faith, or even read magazine reviews of products, since there are too many biases present, usually free products or $$$$. These experiences date back to well before I got (re)involved in making tube amps.

Photography, high performance automotive products, and especially sports supplements reviews in magazines were often tainted or flat out lies. I have no knowledge of this particular amp, and can only guess as to how it is connected up based on the limited information available.

It may indeed be an excellent design, just not a road I choose to venture down again. I found the 6EM7 tubes to be quite variable and inconsistent in the gain in the first stage, and I had several hundred of them to play with. It does show up quite often in budget single tube "spud" amp designs which work reasonably well for their price point. I made one about 10 years ago, but decided that the 6DN7 worked better, and the 6GF7 even better still. I still have the 6GF7 version. It almost became a Tubelab product, the Spud SE. See pictures.

The 5842 is becoming scarce. The TSE is a two stage design, and will remain so, so the twin triode TV sweep tubes are not an option. There are other suitable choices, but I don't have the time to really evaluate them all right now.

shocking that a decade has passed, but no one has followed up on it.