• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

popping fuses on startup

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
All,

i have a great sounding amp, but i am popping fuses on startup after it sits for awhile. i am assuming it could be related to inrush charging the cap up, but i am not a pro, so i am asking the pros for some ideas :)

it seems i can avoid the popped fuse by pulling the positive lead of the speaker out, and powering up that way, then flip it back off and after 30 seconds replace the leads

Attachments

• IMG_20180115_143431.jpg
    IMG_20180115_143431.jpg
    370.5 KB · Views: 298
  • IMG_20180115_143124.jpg
    IMG_20180115_143124.jpg
    601.6 KB · Views: 626
  • IMG_20180115_113920.jpg
    IMG_20180115_113920.jpg
    366.4 KB · Views: 284
Are you using a slo blow fuse in the power socket?
Is it the correct value?
What is a motor run capacitor doing in an audio amplifier? Totally inappropriate.

yes i follow the recommendations in here for the motor run cap, so it should be very appropriate :p
but i would love to hear your thoughts on it :)

i believe it is a 2 amp slow blow, per recommendations in here as well :)

Joined 2013
Paid Member
Do you have a soft start on the amp? Might be drawing too much current to charge that cap and blowing your fuse.
If you don't have a soft start, you may need to go to a 3A, or 3.15A fuse so it can accomodate the start up current draw.

That said - have you used a DBT (dim bulb tester) so you can "see" the current draw on start-up - assume it's pretty large with that giant motor cap.