• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

SSE build with toroidals?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Almost ready to order all the parts after reading up on the SSE the last couple of weeks. I still have some questions though, hoping for a little guidance before i order everything. I am a student living in Scandinavia, which means im on a tight budget :rolleyes:

From what ive gathered, the Edcor is the bang-for-buck winner, but after shipping it across the big lake, its not cheap anymore... I have found some toroidal transformers, made in Poland. I was thinking about ordering both OPT and main from them. From what I've read, their toroidal chokes have had some issues, so a Hammond there.

LINK; Single Ended 5k 30W OPT with UL tap.
LINK; Mains transformer, have to be buildt to other specs...
84dd301f2f0160c11f821176a0be74ff.jpg

I have not found any other SSE`s with toroidals but after what I've gathered, it is costs that keep people from ordering toroidals? DC imbalances is an issue, but using balanced tubes with help? Is there anything i should think of in terms of layout and noise? I'm thinking of main under the hood, and the OPTS side by side on the top(straight on top of opts).

I have also made a purchase list from mouser with most of the other parts needed, except some high quality coupling caps, tube sockets, bindings post and smaller parts. Uncertain about the voltage rate for switches and the diode/ccs.

LINK; Mouser shopping cart for my Tubelab SSE

The parts list on tubelabs homepage has some parts which no longer is made, but i think i got everything right.