• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

SSE optional parts help for a beginner.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a beginner and at the recommendation of another DIY member I want to build an SSE. I already have the board and I'm reading though the instructions. I read that the choke and power supply cap would be discussed elsewhere in the upgrades section but I can't seem to find recommendations.

I'm going with Edcor transformers and I'd like to stick with the same brand for the choke. I'm going to get the more robust transformers so I'd rather go,the same route for the choke. I'd like the CXC series. Can someone educate me on choke selection?

My friend did recommend the power supply cap I should choose but I figured any help here would maybe help others.

Thanks.

It is a good idea to get all your transformers and choke from one source. I got all of mine from Edcor. I have two SSE's,
one for high power tubes like KT88 and the other for low power tubes like 6V6. For the one with high power tubes I used
the Edcor CXC125-10H-200mA choke and for the low power tubes one I used CXC100-7H-150mA.

Power caps - for C1, DO NOT go over 47uF and for C2 it should be at least 100uF and you can go much higher as long as
it will fit in that position on the board, these must be rated for 500V. For an auxilliary motor run cap, 50uF to 100uF will be fine.

Last edited: