• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Simple SE power transfomer question?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am just putting together everything for my Simple SE project and had a general question about the tube types that can be used. I see that most tubes (EL34, 6L6GC, KT88, 6550, ect..) are all in the same general B+ voltage ratings, but if I wanted to use a 6V6 output tube, could I do that using the Allied 6K7VG?? If so, would it be as simple as using a different rectifier tube?? I don't want to overly complicate things as this is my first build, but I am also trying to understand options. I know that I would need a different value for the cathode resistor, and the value would be based on desired output power and B+ voltage. Any help and would be appreciated, also what would be a good B+ voltage in this amp for a 6V6 tube??

Regards
:confused:

Any help and would be appreciated, also what would be a good B+ voltage in this amp for a 6V6 tube??

The 6V6 works best in triode with a B+ of 320 to 340 volts. This is a bit over the 315 volt spec, but you will lose a few volts in the cathode resistor and in the OPT. Many guitar amps ran the little 6V6 at plate voltages near 400 volts without exploding them, but this was in pentode mode. They will definitely not last long in triode or UL with the 6K7VG and even a dead rectifier tube.

I have a dedicated 6V6 Simple SE and it does use a 6K56VG, and Edcor XSE15-8-5K OPT's. The 6V6 does seem to work best with a 6K ohm load, but my speakers are well above 8 ohms for most of the audio range.

Hi,