Biggest engineering mistakes in audiophile gear

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Have you come across design flaws that make you wonder how such bright people could make such poor decisions?

I just did today, when I discovered the Audio Research VT200 amp. Now, people will rightly point out that its main flaw is not unique to this amp. But, that's not really the point. The point is that the flaw is so egregious that it should have never gotten past the suggestion phase (and shouldn't have been suggested by any engineer worth their salt).

I'm not an engineer and I know better, which says something about how egregious the design mistake is.

What is it? A teeny-tiny fan (small fans are typically noisier than large fans for a certain CFM due to them requiring higher RPM) that's so loud that when the Stereophile reviewer moved it far away it could still be heard. How, on planet Earth, does it make sense to spend thousands of dollars pursuing audio quality and simultaneously throw in fan noise to oppose that goal?

It doesn't. It means the design is a mistake and should be scrapped and completely re-imagined.

ar-vt200-1.jpg

ar-vt200-2.jpg

My guess is that the fan is (in addition to being small — something that looking at the photo makes clear) a single bearing ball bearing design, which is basically the noisiest type of fan there is (although niche designs like blowers might be worse — I am talking about standard computer-style fans for airflow and for radiators). Single bearing ball bearing fans are often used industrially due to their low cost and long life, even though they're loud. Dual bearing fans are a bit quieter but not as quiet as more modern bearings like fluid dynamic (FDB), the floating air bearing, etc.).