The Black Hole......

I used to work with an extremely competent engineer who built nice electronic circuits for gadgets.

He says the next thing was the Bean-counters (Accountants) would remove components to get the cost down... thing was, most of his components were there for a reason.

Puts on Bean-counter's Hat:

Hamlet_Xover_Layout.gif

I'd get rid of the three impedance things on the left. Will anyone notice? We will make more money! :D

Banned/scottjoplin
Joined 2021
Somewhat related to that, I actually agree with Joe that placing a series element (like inductor for woofers and capacitor/resistor for tweeters) as the last part in front of the driver is a good thing, for the simple reason it increases impedance the driver sees and thus can benefit from the reduced distortion with higher source impedance. For the same reason, don't pad down a tweeter with a resistor divider.

Like a partial current drive? Wouldn't it have to be quite large?

Back in 1976 I was a consultant for the Gibson (guitar and amp) company. The engineers there had made a pretty good solid state guitar preamp, that even I approved of. They originally used one of the first jfet input IC's, the LF356. Later, the bean counters forced them to be replaced by 741 IC's, and guess what? The product died in the marketplace. I could have told them that in advance, but it took years, even decades before the 741 was discarded for faster parts. It is the same today, the most sonically successful designs usually cost a bit more, because of higher parts quality, and only the serious listeners to subtle differences will believe that, and put their money or effort into it. Thank goodness some people really care about the differences.