John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier part III

Status
Not open for further replies.
Batteries are usually a good solution, but hard to keep charged. AND the best audio products require too much current and voltage to be easily battery powered. However, making a good AC powered supply is a real challenge. Not because of regulation, or even noise necessarily, but subtle problems from leakage, feedback overshoot, etc.

John,

I have been running a batteries only sound system for about 18 months now, and always have a spare set fully charged to swap in and out when needed. It works well for me, but I admit that I don’t know any better! Each device has its own supply, as I found that daisy chaining devices together made compromises to the overall sound of complex music due to (I think) heavy transient rushes of unequal amounts of drawn current. It also helps to have plenty of amps in reserve, and in consequence the batteries never seem to get overly hot. In the wintertime, I switch everything on and leave to soak for an hour before playing music, as the batteries do warm up a little, which is good for dynamic range and extending battery life.

This might all sound a bit of a faff, but in practice not really. ToS

As we have discussed about it quite often in the past, let´s just keep in mind that the socalled replication crisis exists quite a long time and that Cohen mentioned that problem of underpowered studies the first time in the 1960s while already emphasizing that he only reinvented an old idea.

So despite the need for hard end points it seems that the "hard results" are often just an illusion.

The notion that the knowledge about a device creates an overwhelming, uncontrollable bias-effect in a listening test while all other bias-effects, that are still at work under controlled (and "blind") conditions, are controllable isn't that well corrobated by experimental results.