What is the Universe expanding into..

Do you think there was anything before the big bang?

• I don't think there was anything before the Big Bang

Votes: 56 12.5%
  • I think something existed before the Big Bang

Votes: 200 44.7%
  • I don't think the big bang happened

Votes: 54 12.1%
  • I think the universe is part of a mutiverse

Votes: 201 45.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
If I was a Science Fiction writer...a gripping plot with Russian probes Venera 11 and 12 overloading and crashing with Gamma Ray overload. It took down another 9 or so probes, by all accounts.

All because some Neutron Star exploded in the distant Megallanic Cloud. :D
I'll add the science fact that Venera 11 and 12 were successful USSR Venus orbiters and landers, landing on the surface of the planet on 25/12/78 and 21/12/78 respectively. Yes, Venera 12, although launched 3 days later than Venera 11, actually arrived there first!

P.S. I'm also not sure what happened on 'March 5th. 1979', but I know Skylab crashed to Earth on July 11th. 1979, if that's any help! :)

www.hifisonix.com
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Yes they are distinct fields, but both will be churning the surrounding space with incredible differences in field strength across short distances near the magnetar hence the ‘frothy’ term.

Stephen Hawking described a similar situation near a black hole - the force involved there of course being gravity.

Attachments

• It's Frothy Man.jpg
    It's Frothy Man.jpg
    110.6 KB · Views: 92
I'll add the science fact that Venera 11 and 12 were successful USSR Venus orbiters and landers, landing on the surface of the planet on 25/12/78 and 21/12/78 respectively. Yes, Venera 12, although launched 3 days later than Venera 11, actually arrived there first!

P.S. I'm also not sure what happened on 'March 5th. 1979', but I know Skylab crashed to Earth on July 11th. 1979, if that's any help! :)
Now you are talkin' !