And what did we buy today?

beef sized ?

Attachments

• 4DD574AD-B45E-4A31-A947-AFECDB539B13.jpeg
    4DD574AD-B45E-4A31-A947-AFECDB539B13.jpeg
    57.7 KB · Views: 147
Hey kodabmx,
That's the thing. I thought of a push-pull transformer instantly, but you're only at 200 VDC maximum peak. Design maximum system.

-Chris

Ya so now we get to use tube topologies...

SRPP? Circlotron? (Yes, Circlotron!) Single ended with an active load? It'll be my first attempt at a transistorized output. As long as they don't explode and maybe make sound, I'll be encouraged.

I'm thinking to start, using 24V across two devices, one as a load, the other as the active device and I'll go from there... Capacitor coupled to start because I have zero knowledge of DC servos even though I know about split supplies... Maybe I'll get 5W out of the first amp. How do you sum the output without a transformer? I don't think push pull is possible without it. Am I wrong?

EDIT: What about using a transformer with dual secondaries? amp in on one side, speakers on the other. primary disconnected? I have two coils I might get to work... I'll report back :)

Last edited:
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi kodabmx,
Yes, you can sum the output without a transformer. The outputs are placed in push pull with the top device used for positive waveform excursions, the bottom device for negative excursions. Using two N-channel devices means that the drain of the top one goes to the + supply, the source to the drain of the bottom device and the source of the bottom device going to the - supply. Driver stages differ, but the most common and easiest would be a complimentary pair of BJT transistors. It gets very complicated after this, you should look at diagrams of some commercial amplifiers for the rest. Creek (early) used this design.

-Chris

Depending on the floor, you have to be careful of standing water. ie: pee. It can swell the joints and they don't go back down like they swell up. Trust me. :)