Mezmerize B1 Buffer Preamp

I've searched extensively but I can't seem to find the k170 FET's for sale ANYWHERE except the matched pairs from the diyaudio store, which sell for 20 dollars per pair and limits to 2 pairs / person. Seeing as the design needs 6 unmatched JFET's, does anyone know where I can get them?
Are there more available alternatives for the k170?

I bought the matched pairs only for the buffer JFETs, and used octopart.com to buy "cheap" parts for the ones used in the shunt PSU.

Just did an octoparts.com search again for LSK170, and found several offers, like at $2.90 a piece, which is a similar price to what I paid. I'm no expert in this though, and was worried about fakes, but I'm very happy with my built!

Last edited:
diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
For those six you can also use currently available Toshiba surface mount JFETs. To solder them on little adapter boards for through hole and then to the main board. You can cheaply find such mini pcb interface as "SOT23-3 to DIP SIP3 Adapter".

2SK209GR have good enough IDSS and low noise for the job in the PSU section. They also seem consistent for close sample spec straight out of the reel. I wouldn't recommend them in BL option though because tiny smd 150mW and maybe they will be getting too hot for longevity in DCB1 application that runs them full IDSS on.

Mouser no: 757-2SK209GRTE85LF
Digi-Key no: 2SK209-GR(TE85LF)CT-ND

Joined 2017
Paid Member
I bought the matched pairs only for the buffer JFETs, and used octopart.com to buy "cheap" parts for the ones used in the shunt PSU.

Just did an octoparts.com search again for LSK170, and found several offers, like at $2.90 a piece, which is a similar price to what I paid. I'm no expert in this though, and was worried about fakes, but I'm very happy with my built!

Here‘s an earlier hint from Salas for getting genuine parts...

https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/pass-labs/176723-mezmerize-dcb1-building-thread-227.html#post6211006