Building Audiophile Sub with Peerless's XXLS 830845

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

It's been a while now since I first hooked up at this forum but I never had an active roll in it since I'm a newbie on DIY's!

I've just purchased an 830845 Peerless XXLS Sub-Driver for a sealed application.

I’m thinking on using a Qtc value of 0, 62 meaning that I will be obliged to go for an aprox. 100 liter box, since the main purpose of this subwoofer is to play in an audiophile stereo system and/or a 5.1 application to play mainly music concerts!

I would like to have any kind of input from this community that would help me to make the right decisions to achieve the best possible sub application with this driver.

I was also thinking on using a Rythmik Audio - A370-Special Edition (SE) and a Linkwitz Riley Transform for my application.

Since this is a non-servo setup (I would prefer if it would be a Servo application but I don't know how I could implement such a setup), I'm a little concerned with de max excursion of the drive and with the clipping of the amp. Any suggestions?

I really would like to know your opinions and suggestions for my little project.

Cheers,

TIFF

Attachments

• 830877.jpg
    830877.jpg
    84.3 KB · Views: 2,240
I am a relative noob as well.... so take my post as such. If your sub is a non-servo (which it is) you would not be able to convert it into one. I think this is what you asked. Anywhooo, here is a link to an article that may serve your purposes. BTW, great sub you got there. Critical Q Subwoofer

Remember this is for an Audiophile (stereo) and not HT subwoofer build. Personaly I think it would work well for a HT too.
Ron

C'mon. You know how this works......
What will you power this with?
How many watts?
LFE too?
Plate amp or seperate? from B bridged?
If you didn't have this stuff figerd out already why did you buy the driver???:smash: