Which way to fire my sub?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a DIY speaker amateur so sorry if its a simple question :smash: .

I am hoping to build a home cinema system with some low powered speakers that i picked up (it is in the bedroom of a terraced house so can't be too loud!) I am going to be using an old Goodmans 12" at 50w as it is the one I was given. It is going to be in a small as possible box (will be experiment the size at some point). Now, I have seen people fire their subs downwards, upwards, sideways, inside out. What difference does this actually make and what would be best? Also, would I need a vented or sealed box design? Thanks :up:

The size of the box will be determined by the Thiele Small parameters, which we'd need to advise you. This driver likely doesn't have the Xmax to do a down or upfiring. Dan Wiggins of Adire Audio has some guideline for which subs can be used down or upfiring. Small boxes are not ideal for subs as a rule- build the biggest box you can live with and, if you vent it, vent it LOW even if it doesn't model flat.

There are many free programs to model driver response in various boxes. WinISD, Bassbox, others.

This is all very rudimentary- the specifics of the driver determine what it wants to have for an enclosure.

Basically point your drive unit down and see how far the cone sags compared to vertical. If it's like 5% of total normal Xmax then maybe not a problem.

'Best' is dependent on where you put the sub and what you want from it. Downfiring will excite the floor more, but be hidden from view. Side firing could be better if you can't fit much space for the driver to 'breathe' in downfiring position.

I agree. I think most store bought subs lack because they aren't designed for you situation. So they just take up space.