Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Which way to fire my sub?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th August 2006, 09:52 AM   #1
Gorbee is offline Gorbee  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Which way to fire my sub?

I am a DIY speaker amateur so sorry if its a simple question .

I am hoping to build a home cinema system with some low powered speakers that i picked up (it is in the bedroom of a terraced house so can't be too loud!) I am going to be using an old Goodmans 12" at 50w as it is the one I was given. It is going to be in a small as possible box (will be experiment the size at some point). Now, I have seen people fire their subs downwards, upwards, sideways, inside out. What difference does this actually make and what would be best? Also, would I need a vented or sealed box design? Thanks
Old 29th August 2006, 12:13 PM   #2
badman is offline badman  United States
diyAudio Member

The size of the box will be determined by the Thiele Small parameters, which we'd need to advise you. This driver likely doesn't have the Xmax to do a down or upfiring. Dan Wiggins of Adire Audio has some guideline for which subs can be used down or upfiring. Small boxes are not ideal for subs as a rule- build the biggest box you can live with and, if you vent it, vent it LOW even if it doesn't model flat.

There are many free programs to model driver response in various boxes. WinISD, Bassbox, others.

This is all very rudimentary- the specifics of the driver determine what it wants to have for an enclosure.
Old 31st August 2006, 10:34 AM   #3
zenmasterbrian is offline zenmasterbrian  United States
diyAudio Member

This best firing direction is also of interest to me. I think it a very practical question.