Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Home audio sub using 18" passive
Home audio sub using 18" passive Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th September 2005, 08:40 PM   #1
eRiCdWoNg is offline eRiCdWoNg  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to eRiCdWoNg
Default Home audio sub using 18" passive

...I have a rather heavy sub I used to use in my car, but it was too heavy. It it this one: a 15" thats essentially a Kove Audio Z15D car audio sub. I got it from parts express, I will post a link when their site works again. Its a great sub but its just too darn heavy so I took it out of the car. Soooooo... here comes my next wild idea. I've never used a passive radiator before and would like to try. I know not many manufacturers make 18" PR's but I found this one:

http://yellow.mynethost.com/~bv12636...bb16566df0dbf0

Its not terribly expensive and I don't care how large of a box I would need to use, but the tunability with weights and no port noise and low end response of a PR is appealing. The next question is I have no idea how to begin designing one of these except the passive should be larger then the active. I'd use this for home theater where ultra low infrasonics will be required.

The woofer has a good amount of excursion and power handling although its Fs is a little high, probably because it is a car audio sub. Can I touch the 20's maybe teens in FR?
Old 16th September 2005, 09:02 PM   #2
LineSource is offline LineSource  United States
diyAudio Member

I think the most common solution is to build a small sealed, well braced, box and use equalization like a Linkwitz transform circuit to get low freq bass extension at the cost of much higher power(watts).