Subwoofer amp help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all! Need help with connecting Yamaha P3500s power amp to power 2 passive subwoofers? I'm new to this and bought this used yamaha PA to power 2 subwoofers after the plate amps died. I'm not familiar with XLR and jacks input connectors on this amp. Appreciate if someone can explain how to hook up this amp to the avr's sub woofer ouput.TIA.

It will be very useful if you attach photographs of the rear panels of both teams ......
You can basically use a cable with an RCA plug on the AVR (Out LF) end and an XLR plug on the amp end, but I'm guessing, you might need a "Y" lead ......
The speakers will most likely need SpeakOn tabs, and you can use -1 and +1 to connect to the speakers.

No you don't need a Y cable this amp can be set to parallel mode, that sends whatever signal is connected to ChA to ChB internally.

To connect to an AVR to this amp the easiest solution would be a standard RCA sub cable with a 1/4" TS adapter attached to the end at the amp, you could also buy a cable with RCA and 1/4" connectors on it too.

https://www.glsaudio.com/assets/images/32-184-back-1500.jpg

With this cable as long as the AVR can generate enough output signal it will work fine, but these Yamaha amps need a pretty strong signal so you may need a signal booster inline like the ART Cleanbox.

Connecting the speakers should be easy, this amp takes bare wire or bananas on the terminals or Speakon connectors for pro applications.

Hi conanski. Thanks again. According to the specs of the avr,the pre-out is 1.2v. Would that be sufficent?Also,the link of the rca to 1/4" TS mono jack you suggested,is that the correct adaptor for connecting the avr to the power amp? B'cos the input jack on the yamaha power amp is TRS for stereo I believe. Pls advise. Thanks.

Last edited: