Absolute noobs experiment with upgrade woofer on aiwa speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys

I have just started in this community because I want to explore DIY. Never done it before and from the experiences I have read and seen on youtube, there is a lot to be gained by going DIY.

Firstly, I want to see if I can upgrade my old Aiwa speakers with new woofers as the lows are pretty pathetic. Its not a deep speaker so I need to know what creativity is needed to get the lows to an acceptable state. They are vintage and I picked them up from ebay. The highs are awesome and mids are ok, I like more high and low anway. They are 100w speakers made in Japan.

I am in the UK and would like to see if I can get one of those tang bang paper sub woofers to replace the current woofer in there. I was also thinking about stuffing the woofer with loft insulation foam without blocking the port. Let me know if I am talking crap.

The size of the woofer end to end without the metal surrounds is 5.71 inches.

I think I might be trying to polish a turd, but please humour me if there are gains to be made here.

Here are pics
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Just take out the "woofer" and you'll discover that
1) the woofer is driven full range, i.e. there is no lowpass filter
2) the tweeter will have a tiny 2.2 uF cap for high-pass filtering
3) the little thing aside the tweeter is a) fake; b) is a piezo paralleled to the tweeter

The value of that thing is about 5 £ new.

You can’t polish a turd but you can roll it in glitter. :D