Cheapskate dumpster diving speaker

diyAudio Member
Joined 2007
OK not quite dumpster diving
Landlord across the road was cleaning out the house across the road and just now put this on the verge. I haven't pulled the driver out of the box but it seems to be in reasonable but dirty condition and is not open circuit by a battery test
Not yet sure what the exact model is yet
Shocking shonky box
Worth playing with or straight to the recycle bin or trading post?
I don't have a sub with my computer speakers yet
Anybody give me the model or data from a quick eyeball?

Attachments

• IMG_0977.JPG
    IMG_0977.JPG
    95.3 KB · Views: 434
  • IMG_0978.JPG
    IMG_0978.JPG
    86 KB · Views: 433
I have very little experience with nominally car subwoofers, although I do still own a pair of CV Vega124s somewhere

and if the surrounds are still good you should send them to me, since that vega series really should have been marketed differently. fun part is those were the same drivers in their pro audio subs at the time (at least the single VC versions motors. cones were different). what you have there is an older alpine type s sub. they can go ported or sealed, but that is a version before redesign if I don't miss my guess...not as stout as current models. for a computer sub youll be in good shape.

with the higher q numbers, play with a TL design at or just below FS. shoot for around 56-70 liters of enclosure space. give it a little room and it will sing.

with the mid q numbers of those vega subs, a basic ported box is all they really need. kind of the last in a breed and id pay the postage because lolfanboy. seriously, those woofers are the last good thing that ever came out of cerwin-vega before the sell off.
as far as repair...……..very carefully

diyAudio Member
Joined 2007
"I'd pay the postage because lolfanboy. "
Seriously?
I do have a Vega 154 here spare and no longer likely to use due to lack of space/room/WAF