Lamp protection for subwoofer drivers...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
so, parallel assembly?

0,2 // 0,2 = 0,1

0,2 // 0,2 // 0,2 // 0,2= 0,05

Unfortunately it doesn't pay off to do that, based on what I've read so far (I'm no expert on this, but some of it seems pretty straightforward).

First of all, the hold current rating will increase for each PTC that you add in that parallel arrangement, which means that unless you plan to ensure that the TOTAL hold current capacity is what you're aiming for, the parallel PTC combo won't offer the protection that you're expecting. Secondly, the resistance of a PTC goes down as its hold current rating goes up, so it's just cheaper and easier and just as effective to deploy one large PTC rather than multiple smaller ones to achieve the same hold current capacity.

That depends on how much current the diodes can handle. The resistor is there for protection of the diode, but if they can handle the current, your fine.

I think that the resistor is there for more than that. If there was no resistor there, there would be no voltage divider circuit (resistor + device to be protected) and therefore no protection for the device that is in parallel with the diodes.

Here are some actual resistance measurements of PTC devices. Note that I said "resistance" not "impedance", as for each device it basically stays constant from 20 Hz to 20kHz.

Hold Current Rating / Resistance
0.50 A - 0.634 Ohms
0.65 A - 0.432 Ohms
0.75 A - 0.354 Ohms
1.10 A - 0.217 Ohms
1.35 A - 0.157 Ohms

...and a "100W Speaker Circuit Breaker" which I suspect is just a PTC in a capsule.

1.50 A - 0.130 Ohms

So from about 1.1 A up, I wouldn't worry about the "cold" impedance of the PTC having any audible impact on a speaker.