Dayton audio 15 inch UM sealed sub build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all.

First time sub DIYer (and first time poster, so please be gentle) who is completely and utterly confused by the sheer volume of information on this inter-web thingy.

I’ve been holding off posting for fear of being told that all the info is easily available….but honestly, I’ve read shed-loads over the past 6 months and I feel
like I’m only just scratching the surface.

Disclaimer: I am not a gifted electrician and only a mediocre woodworker. I live in Belgium so will be mixing and matching metric and imperial measurements. Apologies for this.

As a brief summary/background:
I have a couple of Q Acoustics 3050s and also the Q Acoustics 3090 centre speaker that I picked up on a special offer (probably just before they launched the 3050i upgrades)

After what feels like an eternity of reading forums, I decided to try my hand at DIY after seeing prohibitively expensive prices for any subs above 10”.
I own a drill, a sander and a jigsaw so thought this would doable.

I modelled a sealed 15” UM from Dayton through WinISD and have put together ¾ of the 4cubic foot enclosure based on various guides and advice found online.
My build will be a downward firing sub (to pacify the wife and disguise it as a chunky coffee table…)

I am fully aware that a 15” will be too small for my room (I do not have a dedicated HT room and our house has adjoining rooms/areas without separation… so the TV area sits between the ‘living’ area and the ‘dining area, meaning the space is huge). However, it will undoubtedly be better than the ‘no sub’ I have now. If this project works, I will also be looking to add a second sub in future (more on that later).