Damping material

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.

GM

Joined 2003
Newbie here. I’m no expert on damping materials by no means, but has anyone ever tried Acoustiblok? Amazing stuff. Converts acoustic energy into kinetic energy. Check out the video on this web site. Let me know your thoughts.

Acoustiblok Soundproofing Material - Acoustiblok Website

The primary goal is to damp internal eigenmodes from reflecting back to the cone, modulating it, so typically adding damping to one of any parallel surfaces as well as any that is parallel to the diaphragm is sufficient, so density is a function of the sum of all internal reflected energy and any more just starts rolling off its low end performance.

The Acoustiblok OTOH is primarily for keeping the reflections in the cab and damping them via mass loading, so guessing it's way overkill for typical speaker cab alignments. though only one way to know for sure.

Historically, [multiple layers of] acoustic fiberglass insulation has proven to be the best overall choice with O-C 703 or similar being the modern equivalent: owens corning 703 - Google Search

For vented alignments, this damping routine doesn't damp vent action unless the cab is fairly heavily stuffed, so must be 'critically' damped for best overall performance using some form of impulse response test to show/hear when there's no under-damped 'hangover'/'boom' in the system like well damped sealed except with more LF gain bandwidth [BW].

For folks that don't have REW or similar program to do this, the simple, cheap 'click' test was created: Click Test | GM210 | Flickr

For heavy stuffing, there's a point of diminishing returns: Sub Box Polyester Fiberfill

Some additional information:

What's the simple science behind polyfill stuffing? My explanation as well.

http://www.troelsgravesen.dk/cabinet-damping.htm

https://www.qtasystems.co.uk/articles/how-to-damping.htm

GM