Advice on building Dual Sonotubes?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,
New to the forums and pretty much a complete noob when it comes to subwoofer specs, graphs, modelling, etc... I've been doing what reading I can, but I need a bit of help on where to get started.

So, a bit of background. I've been looking at replacing a 20+ year old Paradigm prd-10 I've been using as a bandaid in my hometheater setup for the last few years. I had been looking at the PE ultimax 18 kits for quite awhile, but they were either out of stock when I was ready to build or I didn't have the time/patience to build when they were available. a couple weeks ago, after much discussion on AVS forum, I had decided to go with a single SVS PC4000 (and eventually going dual with a second one or a PB3000/4000, either of which SVS told me would match perfectly with the PC4000). My budget for subs took a bit of a hit when I decided to upgrade my theater seating, so I'm looking hard at the dual ultimax 18's again(which I could put together for almost half the cost of a single PC4000). I would have already ordered the kits from PE, but I've got a pretty big room (long and narrow, but still 6500 Cubic feet) and primarily do movies with my setup, so I really want to go ported. I was settled on the PC4000 because the cylinder offered up a lot more placement options for me. Only thing biting me was the price.

Last night I got to thinking, "could I possibly build a clone of the PC4000, using one of the ultimax drivers?" That's when I came across sonotubes and started to realize it'd be even cheaper and easier for me to put together my own cylindrical sub than one of the PE kits. Now I'm just trying to decide which driver amp combo I want to go with and finalizing the specs.