Benefits of bandpass

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to the speaker design game, although I have an engineering background. After reading what seemed like thousands of forum posts and asking a few questions, I was able to successfully design and build a small "sub" woofer to mate with a portable loudspeaker. My sub features a pair of 3" drivers and a pair of 3.5" passive radiators, and sounds good for the size & cost, although I'm still making measurements to see what I might tweak.

One thing that gnaws at me is the fact that I'm rolling off the drivers way below their potential max frequency. It feels like I'm throwing something away. This is not rooted in theory, just emotion! One alternative might be a bandpass design, which (if I could pull it off) would acoustically roll off those low mids and beyond. Is there any chance such a design could approach a pair of drivers + PRs in 2X the box in terms of low frequency extension and (hopefully) SPL?

What is the go-to resource for learning the physics behind a bandpass so I can perhaps dig in and get a little more "predictive" as opposed to just messing around within WinISD? I feel like I'm hunting in the dark. (That's because I *AM* hunting in the dark!) Thanks for any advice . . .

Assuming that your current subwoofer box is properly-designed, a properly-designed bandpass box will be larger, and roll off slower, but the rolloff will start at a higher frequency. The big advantage that a bandpass design brings is that the vent can filter out distortion, so the result can be a cleaner-sounding bass.

More information here - The Subwoofer DIY Page - Bandpass Systems

Hey. Just intall Hornresp and WinIsd or other programs and simulate some boxes and drivers.