Cheap Under-desk Subwoofer Designs? (40Hz under $50?)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
[tl;dr Modest 40Hz subwoofer for under $50?]

I'm new to DIY audio and I had a blast with my first speaker build (full-range Planet10 bookshelfs), my first amplifier build (LM1875 gainclone), and now I'm working on a preamp to complete that system. When the preamp gets done, it all goes out in the living room and I won't have a system for the office/workbench anymore. :(

I'd like to stick with the DIY theme and do a pair of micro-Cornucopya for the office wall (thanks Xrk1971!), a handbuilt pre/power amp, but I also want to do a subwoofer for under the desk. The major constraint of this project is that I would like to do it for CHEAP. I'm aiming at under $50 for the subwoofer drivers and parts.

I'm building the amp, so I can design in an active crossover and a cheap TPA3116 50W mono amp, but I'm stumped on cheap subwoofer designs that are small enough to fit under my desk. I don't need much sensitivity since I'll practically be sitting on it, nor terribly low extension since this will be for casual workday music only, but I'm not finding an existing design that fits the bill.

Here's what I've turned up in my research:

1. Paul Carmody's Voxel - $43 for the W5-1138 driver and someone came up with a slot port version (voxelslot -

Techtalk Speaker Building, Audio, Video Discussion Forum
    ) so I don't even need to buy the ports.
  2. Brian Steele's Boom Unit - $51 for the DCS205 and a boards-only MLTL cabinet.
  3. RJB's Cerberus - $55 for the W6-1139 driver is already over the budget, but the right size and extension.
  4. Paul Carmody's Pony - $110 for the Dayton RSS210 is right out, but the size would be just right for laying down under a desk against the wall.