micro subwoofer a-la velodyne microvee

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
im running some calculations on a possible mocro subwoofer using the tangband W6-2100 6.5 inch subwoofer

Tang Band W6-2100 6-1/2" RBM Flat Panel Subwoofer 4 Ohm

and a pair of 6.5 inch passive radiators in a 10- 15 litre box. the box would be barely bigger than the driver surrounds.. so.. really, really small.

its my first time working with passive radiators (theoretically at this point)

i was looking at the nice cheap dayton audio 6.5 inch jobbies here:

Dayton Audio SD175-PR 6-1/2" Passive Radiator

their excursion is a tad low (9mm vs 10 mm for the tang band) but there will be two of them so acceptable i think.

anyway, being a bit of a (total) noob in the theoretical side of speaker design, im a bit lost in winisd.

ive input the driver parameters, and simulated a vented enclosure in a 15 litre box. with a tuning frequency of 26 hz, for starters. the response curve looks great for such a small box. , down only 3db at 30 hz, and 10db at 20hz.

using the effective diameter of two of the passive radiators, i get a vent 18.1cm diameter and 734 cm long

however, the air mass ( and hence PR mass ) is a feeble 17 grams.

given the starting mass of the pair of PR's is 75 grams, working backwards, the equivalent vent would be 3.3 metres long, and the box would be tuned to circa 15 hz.

obviously this is useless. i may as well not bother with the PR's

making the box larger seems to make this even worse.

bringing the box right down to 5 litres, i get a more massive vent and therefore a heavier PR, but a) its impossible to make a box that small for these cones, and b) the freq resp. graph looks horrible, and worse than a single driver in a 10 litre sealed box.

what am i missing? where on earth do i find a pair of 6.5 inch passive radiators that only weigh 8.5 grams each ?!