Experiments in Tapped horns

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi DIY audio crew,

I have an old active 10" ported subwoofer in my music set up whose cabinet is getting a bit rattly in its old age- it also suffers from port chuff at higher volumes. I have been able to get the Thiele small parameters for the driver that was used in it and have been contemplating experimenting with a new enclosure to see what performance gains can be made by recycling the amp and driver but making a new cabinet. I have recently been able to spend some time wrapping my head around horn resp and sketch-up and have a first draft of sorts for a tapped horn cabinet for the driver. I am looking for someone to maybe check my working/ modelling to make sure i have not made any critical mistakes before going out and making sawdust (I am more of a carpenter than I am an audio designer!)

First things first, the sub uses a plate amp that has high and low pass filters at 40hz-160hz. Given that I have pretty good floorstanders with decent bass extension I plan on using the cabinet for 40-100hz. I have been reading quite a lot of threads here and on the AVS forums about modelling tapped horns and think I have got the basics down.

A few things that I am unsure of- I used a diagram from an AVS thread by lilmike to help explain what the s1, s2, s3, s4 L12, L23, L34 values mean in relation to a tapped horn enclosure. For my design I want to have a tall, narrow tower with the mouth firing out the front panel at the bottom instead of the pipe style indicated in lilmikes diagram. I am unsure how that affects S3, S4 and L34 values. In my Sketch up design I have been able to fold the horn so that the horn length, and mouth size are the same values (even if their location is different). Can anyone spot any issues i might have with my proposed design?