A question about Tapped horns

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
diyAudio Member
Joined 2007
I'm asking because I am still learning how to use the sim program and I can't seem to find the easy answer by searching.
How do you get the broadest possible bandwidth in the response??
How does the shape of the horn exit effect the response??

I once built an experimental shelf ported woofer where the rear of the port was angled at 45 degrees to see what the box sounded like ( I could not hear any difference ) and was wondering what effect an angled exit would have on the tapped horn if any

If I build a pair they would be used with my planned big OB project and only for the octaves below 80Hz

Second part of the question here, is there a cheap measuring microphone for these low octaves? All of my microphones (Tandy for voice ) have huge distortions

diyAudio Member
Joined 2007
I think (given the cost of postage) that the Behringer from a local shop is as cheap as I will get; $75AUD each, cheapest I have found. Being semi-poverty stricken i will be using an old car subwoofer I have in the shed ; Pair of older MTX Road Thunders 15 inch, talked about these in my bass box enquiry

Second part of the question here, is there a cheap measuring microphone for these low octaves? All of my microphones (Tandy for voice ) have huge distortions

behringer ecm8000 - $70 to $95 depending where you buy it.
http://www.coutant.org/behringer/ecm8000c.pdf

the low frequency response is not shown on the datasheet but the company claims it captures 15Hz to 20khz. Hmm not quite sure about the low response though.

Audix TM1 - $270-$400 depending where you buy it.
http://www.audixusa.com/docs_12/specs_pdf/TM1.pdf

The Audix microphone does show its low frequency response on the datasheet clearly extending to 20Hz.

Probably a safer bet, but more expensive.