Opamp PSRR

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, JCX,

It's a very good paper. With my limited brain, I have not understand this single paper wholy. It will take some time for me to digest it. I'm not very good with math. For now, the usefull picture is fig4 and fig6, this can be implemented in discrete designs. Fig8 is implementable with more complicated CCT.

Since NE5532 or TL072 only have 8pins, all have been used, and we cannot access to the internal CCT of it, I come to conclusion that the "usually overlooked" pins that "may" give better audio performance is pin 4(-suppy) and pin8 (+supply). Giving better supply (maybe?) will extract more reproduction with these ordinary opamps.

But what is to be connected with pin4 and pin8 that can give better audio performance for these ordinary opamps?

From STAX patent #4366432, I came with this drawing.

The supply is higher than +/-15V needed (coming from +/-25V), connected to the opamp by CCS (10mA), and put zener 15V to maintain the voltage in the opamp's supply.

The idea is that a CCS will have high output impedance, have smaller disturbance. Pin4 and pin8 will see neglected amount of +/-25V's ripple. Then we will need a zener to set the voltage.

It makes a second loop in the zeners as a second load besides the opamp itself.

But after looking at the drawing one more time, what could be the difference between this and ordinary usage of opamp (which connects pin4 and pin8 directly to +/-15V without zeners)? Will the CCS+zener method make better supply rail for the opamps?

Attachments

• oppsrr.jpg
    oppsrr.jpg
    25.9 KB · Views: 539
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?postid=951110#post951110

In that sim, if you change U2 to the opa227 model which better models psrr