Destroyer x Amplifier...Dx amp...my amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice design Carlos! I must felicitate you on your "HD-II" amplifier.

I'm wondering how you determined these 180Ohm/220pF values for the lowpass filter in the input. 180Ohm/220pF gives 4MHz (-3dB) corner frequency. Strange!
What about choosing an 5 times larger resistor or capacitor for 600kHz /-3dB?

Just my :2c:

Best regards,
Donk

I decide those things using my ears donk....listening.

The input resistance was bigger...than my main adviser, Doctor Graham Maynard suggest me to reduce...or remove.... was reduced.

I am not a designer, i have expertise into listening tests, A to B comparison and i have knowledge of some basic calculations, alike ohms law and simple things.... i am very ignorant.

But i use to force amplifier to work...stages to work...just that..and sometimes they sound good.

You have not readed the thread...too big, i know that.... because your answer..... made many times before...answered many times before...no problems..welcome.

regards,

Carlos

Donk said:
Nice design Carlos! I must felicitate you on your "HD-II" amplifier.

I'm wondering how you determined these 180Ohm/220pF values for the lowpass filter in the input. 180Ohm/220pF gives 4MHz (-3dB) corner frequency. Strange!
What about choosing an 5 times larger resistor or capacitor for 600kHz /-3dB?
This amp is likely to be used without buffering the volume pot.
Graham allowed for a high value of Rs (probably <2k) when suggesting that RF capacitor.

Was a long time ago Donk.... the input resistance was 2K2 i think.... early beginning

of this thread.

Then Graham told me that would be better to reduce it or even to supress it.

And before that i had a voltage attenuator into the input...so... the story is old.

He suggested me to try smaller values, or even to supress the input resistance.

I made a try.... as nothing happened with audio reproduction...i reduced to 180 ohms into the input (Dx Standard).