Post your Solid State pics here

Attachments

• IMG_20150104_142420_027.jpg
    IMG_20150104_142420_027.jpg
    468 KB · Views: 1,044
Of course I see the brackets and the thick slap of aluminum but that is not a heatsink. It will disperse some heat but has very little surface area without any fins. The amp must run at a very low bias if that is sufficient IMO.

The whole surface of the amp will act as heat sink (front, back, sides). There's quite a bit of area there.

Joined 2009
Paid Member
It will be interesting to hear from Marra just how hot that case gets.

Not hot at all in fact barely warm even after several hours of listening at reasonable sound levels.The bias level is set very low.
This is my first time building this type of amp being a big fan of Nelson Pass designs but this amp especially with the regulation of the front end supply is one damn good amp.The regulators lift it to the top level SQ wise.
More info here although mine was a scratch build not from assembled boards.

NCC200 Power Amplifiers

Not hot at all in fact barely warm even after several hours of listening at reasonable sound levels.The bias level is set very low.
This is my first time building this type of amp being a big fan of Nelson Pass designs but this amp especially with the regulation of the front end supply is one damn good amp.The regulators lift it to the top level SQ wise.
More info here although mine was a scratch build not from assembled boards.

NCC200 Power Amplifiers
Well done, and thanks for sharing the link to Avondale Audio about the NCC200. Looks like another amp on horizon (as if I need anymore!). :) Can you share more about the 'regulation of the front-end' you speak of. Was that homebrew also? Thanks.

Of course I see the brackets and the thick slap of aluminum but that is not a heatsink. It will disperse some heat but has very little surface area without any fins. The amp must run at a very low bias if that is sufficient IMO.