Marantz SR-50 receiver repair

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi people,

I've volunteered to have a look at a friend's Marantz SR-50 which blows the main fuse at the power PCB. She took it to a tech who repaired it - it then was OK for about a year, and stopped working again with the same problems. I know it is probably time for a new one, but she's a single mother and all that...you know the rest.

I can see where a complimentary pair of output transistors (A1263, C3180 Toshiba) have been replaced but only on one channel. Some common transistors have also been replaced.

I have limited knowledge about transistors, but I note that those output trans which weren't replaced are open circuit between the centre collector and the other legs, so need replacing. The other channel's output transistors are OK in this respect. I know I should replace all four if it comes to that as they may have been damaged.

I note also that the output legs (+,-) of the plastic package bridge rectifier are practically open circuit with respect to each other (both ways) showing ~ 2.5ohms between them. I assume this isn't correct and the device is kaput?

But to my primary question. One of the power supply caps (4700uF) has (easily seen) cracks around the solder on the board, so is probably intermittently connected. Could this have been the cause of the issues? I don't really think so, but I can't find anything else wrong (albeit within my limited knowledge).

Any other tips on what I can check on-board with a DMM?

Thanks

Mark

Hopefully your DMM has a diode test function use it.