Is this a good design?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, this is my first post, so be nice :)

I am designing a driver for a passive LCR style equalizer.
It is going to be in a bass preamp/eq, so I am designing for as high headroom as I can.

The Goals:

The amp has to drive around a 1k impedance or so without clipping.

so I aim to be able most of the supply rails into the load.

Also I aim to stay *just about* in class A throughout. (Because no global feedback)

The circuit seems to simulate well, however this is my first attempt at such a driver (I usually design with tubes)

Is this a good design for my needs? Will the bias be stable, etc?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• eq driver.jpg
    eq driver.jpg
    29.4 KB · Views: 1,118
WELCOME

This should work, with high input impedance and low output impedance probably below 10ohm and not very high distortion.

However :
-why so high supply valtage? a bit high for these jfets, also does it buffer signal from active bass pickups? It will be probably below 1V ac

-cascade of three followers is not nessesary for low powers, jfet driving complementary transistors should work OK.

-better to use two pots, one to adjust offset and second to adjust idle current through output stage. With 80mA of idle current, 4.7ohm emitter resistors and small heatsink, the bias should be stable.

Hi guys, thanks for the advice.

Ifrythings-

Do you mean the amplified diode setup? I was trying to keep the stage as simple as possible, so I didn't consider that type of approach. I was hoping the symmetry of the layout would give good thermal tracking.:rolleyes:

Darkfenriz-

It's going after a couple of tube eq stages.

The reason for the high supply voltages is that it's to go in the middle of a tube preamp, to drive a lo-z pultec style equalizer. I'm trying to make it integrate better with the hi-z/voltage stages that come before it.