NAD C300 Output is barely audible HELP!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My NAD C300 Amplifier has just lost the Ghost. Output is barely audible on either channel even when the volume is set to maximum. You can just hear the music when you get close to the speakers.
The question is rather open ended but any suggestions on where to start would really help.

I am no expert but thanks to this forum, I managed to repair my old NAD 304 with just a £3 soldering gun and a 10p resistor. I could have gone round in circles but a similar fault had been diagnosed on here.

NAD C300 OUTPUT VERY FAINT

Unlike the classic NAD Amps where there is clear seperation from PRE Amp to Power Amp this one does not have the facility so its impossible to use it as preamp to see if its only the output thats faulty.

I will open to see if I can make sense of what the problem is . The only tools I have at the moment are a Digital Multimeter and a soldering gun. All suggestions are welcome

I HAVE NOW OPENED THE NAD C300

I opened the NAD C300 tonight and found that there are 2 x 5AT Fuses on the power supply board and these are blown there is another set of 2 x 0.5A Fuse which are intact. I replaced the 2 blown fuses and switched the AMP on. The 5AT fuses blow straight away but the 2 0.5A are intact and the green LED at the front of the unit still comes on. There are seven cables feeding main PCB from the PSU board near the toroid (six output wires from toroid going to PSU board). I assume there are 2 indepedent voltage rails high and low and its the higher side probably to the power amp where there is a current surge.

Any suggestions?

I HAVE FOUND THE FAULT