Luxkit A504 repair, long

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone,

First of all, before I launch into this post, let me apologize for the length of this post and also for the fact that my first post in this community is a plea for help. Thanks in advance for those who are patient enough to read the whole thing and to those who can offer some assistance.

OK, here's the story:
A friend of mine shorted the output leads of his Luxkit A504 amp and blew up one of the output stages. (Actually, as he related it, "Flames shot out of the top." Output stage damage was my diagnosis -- not a hard assessment to make in the light of the cracked and blackened transistors.) Never one to turn away from the opportunity to disassemble something, I agreed to attempt a repair.

Let me digress for a moment to provide a little background. I have a degree in electrical engineering. As part of my job over the past ten years or so, I have designed a number of analog circuits (signal conditioning and data acquisition stuff) and several fairly high-power control circuits for inductive loads (motors and solenoid drivers). I'm not completely unfamiliar with the operation of transistors, diodes, bias circuits, etc, but I must be careful to point out that having never worked on an audio amp, my knowledge of them is academic, rather than practical.

OK, back to the story at hand. Faced with the damaged amp and an irresponsibly optimistic promise to attempt to fix it, I ordered a full set of replacement output transistors (3 each Toshiba 2SA1095 and 2SC2565) and books on amp design from Hood, Slone, and Self. I also attempted to locate, unsuccessfully, documentation for the amplifier. From what little I've been able to find on the web, the amp was a kit version of the Luxman A504 amplifier, and was sold only in Japan. I should add that I have no schematics.