Lyra Connoisseur 4-2L SE: What a masterpiece!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Jonathan,

really interesting to read that you do NOT use heavy "lead" mats nor rubber to dampen the assemblies. I have been using it for many years, and I think my ideas came from the time when I built loudspeakers in the 80s. Add mass to lower the resonance freq and also to lower the amplitude with which any assemblies might vibrate with.

The "lead"mats that I use are actually not made out of lead, but of some rubber compound material, so there is no problems with ROHS or my personal health. I am fully årp ROHS even though it has caused some problems for me, aswell increased costs due to the need to invest in new soldering eq. and skills.

I also use Teflon PCBs for low voltage applications like RIAA (both MM and MC) to minimise influnece from vibrations onto the sensitive circuits.

I think I have gone to the extreme in my latest assembly of a remote controlled attenuator system where I dampen the PCBs by putting them into clay and also to add clay onto the top of the PCBs. At least it dampens the sharp noise from the clicking relais :)

Now, your ideas to control resonance is really neat and intelligent! I guess one cannot use clay inside a consumer product....

Maybe I am going in the wrong direction when just adding mass to a mechanical system. What I think I do is to lower the resonance freq by adding mass, but maybe I am moving the resonance freq to a freq range where there is lots of energy in the music (ie 50 - 200 Hz). Instead I should add stiffness to the mechanical system so the resonace freq goes up towards a freq range ehere there is much less energy in the music (above 1kHz or so). Less energy that can trigger a resonance disturbance in the assembly.

And this is probably what you do in the 4-2 preamp.

Best regards,
Sigurd

jcarr said:
Hi again Sigurd: