Yet another OPA2134-based headphoneamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a pair of AKG 240Monitor that could use a good amplifier. I would like to create my own amp using BB OPA2134, for a couple of reasons. They sound good (I think), they are capable of driving 600Ohm, but most important... I have NO experience with OP-amps. I'm fairly new to analogue-electronics and the only thing I have built so far is a sweet sounding tube-amp. I think it's time I got the hang of OP-amp now as well. I've been looking a lot at this amp: http://raymondaudio.nl/projects/project7/project7.html but in order to learn more about the basics, I would like to build my own from scratch.

I've studied the pdf-documentation for the OP-amp. The maximun powersupplyvoltage seems to be +-18VDC, and to get the most out of it that's pretty much the voltage I'm going to run it from. There is a current-limit of +-40mA but in order to get 40mA at 600Ohm I seem to need 24V so the current-limit shouldn't be any problem as far as I can see. But there are a couple of things that puzzle me. In the spec-sheet it says that the maximun output voltage at 600Ohms is +-2.5V. Is that correct? How can I get more output-voltage? The other thing is the gain, but I'm going to read more about it so see if I acn figure that one out myself. A few pointers in the right direction would be appreciated though.

The output voltage is V+ -2.5 positive and
v- +2.5 negative so for the positive it is 18(if you feed it with that)-2.5 =15.5 Vout peak at 600ohm. 31V swing.

Gain is 104dB which is 158489 times voltage gain.

For more output current check the link you supplied where he used two opamps to drive the circuit, i would have gone full parallel but nevermind.