Thinking to build a plug-in circuit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I’m interested to build a universal variable loudness to use with any amplifiers. The idea is to put it in between pre-out and main-in link of any integrated amplifiers. I had the schematics of Nakamichi 410 preamplifier as attached. Could anyone help to educate me whether I can build this circuit with or without any modifications, please? I'm not an electrical engineer but have some soldering skills. Thank you in advance

Attachments

• 35863CC5-B3F9-4092-9BAA-6F9DD867AF71.jpeg
    35863CC5-B3F9-4092-9BAA-6F9DD867AF71.jpeg
    191.1 KB · Views: 147
Last edited:
I would start by driving it with a low impedance source, and having a high impedance buffer on the output.

I went down this road. I tried many different configurations and I was quite dissatisfied with the results. The best one was based on the Nakamichi circuit from the TA2A receiver.

That doesn't mean you can't do it.

The problem is getting a center tapped pot

You have to find one in good shape from an old unit.

I have a few NOS units from Radio Shack I bought around ten years ago. When I saw them I figured I better grab them, since the Loudness feature has been absent since the 1990s at the latest. I experimented with one and it worked pretty good.

You could try to find a circuit that doesn't use the center tap. That's where I was going. I was trying to develop an active circuit that didn't change the volume, only the contour. I'm pretty sure the Nak TA2A has a circuit that works like that, even without an op amp. It might be worth a look.

Nakamichi TA-2 High Definition Tuner Amplifier Manual | HiFi Engine