Linear L-240 recap and...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello team, I've lurked on various audio repair forums a long long time. I'm finally ready, (I think) to get involved in a recap.

The subject at hand is a NZ made, likely in the 'heyday' for these vintage amps we know and love. Linear L-240 is the manufacturer and model.

The only 'data' I can find on this amplifier is here:
Happy birthday L240 • Heat • Public Address

Manufacturer may be mentioned here:
LINEAR Electronics Ltd Auckland New Zealand | Audiokarma Home Audio Stereo Discussion Forums

So the hopes of finding a datasheet are slim to impossible. Cool. Now I'm fairly new to soldering, but have access to a slick temperature regulated iron and I've been reading the how-to and tips for years. I think I'm ready to tackle a project. I also have a few friends who do this professionally, so I have the luxury of a few guides.

Now the amplifier worked momentarily, then began a feedback noise coming through. I suspect its the big capacitors in the power section, but as I'm learning, I would like to go through a full recap, to get a bit of practice in.

I've made a list of the capacitors. Are there any other things I should look at replacing? I've done some reading that suggests as long as capacitance remains the same, upping the voltage is okay. I've also read suggestions to keep the physical size of the capacitors the same, so that the legs pop in the circuit board without much mangling.

How would I go about measuring my current capacitors size to compare to the modern day offerings? Is there a physical sizing guide? Use a micrometer? Just a ruler for height / diameter? Are the physical sizes listed of the capacitors on mouser and such?

Any other challenges you wish to point out are helpful too.

I've included a couple photos of the project.

Dustin

Attachments

• IMG_0412.jpg
    IMG_0412.jpg