Yet another Adcom GFA-535

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
It's been a while since I posted something... Since I build a tiny O2 headphone amp back in the day.

Cutting to the point since I got my paws over a decent Gfa535 the first thing as man's nature dictates is to open it up and mess with the guts.
Simple beast with a few caps to be changed /upgraded. That is done and out the way.
Next step is to change big caps in the power supply... and then I realized something seems odd, even though it's a dual mono with mirror boards I noticed one (L) has and extra cable that runs to the power supply.

I'M a newB but there is something the way the grounds are done that seems confusing and TBH I can't quite comprehend the why's and if there is a way to improve it.
I searched the forums and the only thing I found is a guy that sells a new PS board... But what can I DIY? .. In the case there is room for some improvement in the grounding section.

NUTSHELL
1. Recap - pretty much done
2. New inputs - In process
3. Speaker terminal replacement (speaker selector is being erased plus new 5 way binding posts to come)
4. Q607 will be eliminated from the L+R boards. According to my Guru (dad which is/was and everyday DYIaudio member that actually read pretty much all the posts in the Blowtorch thread LOL) that Q607 gets in the way of the overall circuit just to flash some clipping leads. I don't prefer LEDs over sound quality.

Some pics for mere reference and schematic added.

Any input and comments welcomed!

Cheers from Mexico,
ROB.

Attachments

• IMG_20200318_212330.jpg
    IMG_20200318_212330.jpg
    528.2 KB · Views: 584
  • 15847562095534128829965273211466.jpg
    15847562095534128829965273211466.jpg
    518.9 KB · Views: 648
  • hfe_adcom_gfa-535_service.pdf
    296 KB · Views: 171