Emotiva UPA-500 Distorted Channels

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Everyone!

I have a little Emotiva UPA-500 with 4 out of 5 channels distorted, this is my first time troubleshooting an Amplifier with more than 2 channels, can you suggest what are the culprits in this scenario?

I'm checking Filtering caps in the power supply but at the same time I think, wouldn't all be distorted if that was the problem since they all share the same power supply?

Thanks in Advance.

Joined 2011
I'm checking Filtering caps in the power supply but at the same time I think,
wouldn't all be distorted if that was the problem since they all share the same power supply?

That's right. Check in case there are individual fuses per channel.
Otherwise (with no power and unplugged), check the resistors and semis in-circuit,
comparing with the good channel if necessary.

Last edited:
Folks,

So for a reason I don’t know, now only 2 out of the 5 channels are distorted, what I did so far is:

1. Desoldered the filtering caps on the Power Supply just to test them and then soldered them back.

2. Disassembled the Amplifier board and, you know, twisted it around a bit to look at the bottom, etc.

3. I noticed the board was dirty mostly with signs of excessive soldering flux so I sprayed some DeOxit and brushed it a bit cleaner.

4. Measured some resistors, continuity, etc. But haven’t changed any parts.

I’m surprised to see how many SMD components this amplifier has on the bottom part of the amplifier board, hundreds of them...

Then I decided to put a 1kHz sine wave and analyze it with the scope, that’s when I noticed that only 2 are bad now, then I played some music and connected the speakers and yes, confirmed, they sound good with music as well...

What could be causing this???