I have about 30 Darlington Pairs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I stripped a whole bunch of old Sony amps and I would like to re-purpose the output transistors. I looked at the schematic for one and it was a class h amplifier using a 2 pairs of MN2488 and MP1620 Darlington Transistors. I have attached the schematic I came up with from it. I am new to building (Kind of anyway) I usually just modify existing amps to put out more power.

Can anyone that has built a few look this over and tell me if there is anything I have totally messed up or can do to improve it before I get the boards made?

Also

I would really like to see a schematic of a class ab amplifier and have someone explain to me what every part does or point me to a book that goes into more detail that just This is a long tail pair, This is a driver stage, ETC ETC ETC.

I am really hoping a guru can help me here. I have been in the electronics industry for 30+ Years so don't worry about getting to technical.

Attachments

• Darling Power Amp.png
    Darling Power Amp.png
    37.1 KB · Views: 1,018
A few things at first blush ...

1) You probably should make your bias circuit at Q9 adjustable.

2) Bypass your feedback resistor at R618 with a small value cap to prevent high frequency oscillations.

3) You might consider a thiel network on the output... half a dozen turns of wire around a resistor in series and a small value cap to ground.

4) Some RF bypassing on the gain stages might also be a good idea.

5) with 40 volt rails you really don't need 4 pairs of 10 amp transistors... 2 pairs would probably suffice and may even work better. More output transistors does not give you more power.

Just one question .... how the heck did you manage 30 years in electronics without learning how an amplifier works?

You might want to visit this thread and get the book ...

Last edited: