Push-Pull VAS

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I'm a beginner (kinda) and have been interested in symmetric input and amplification stages for some time.

After reading the The push-pull VAS section on D.Self's book, I tried replicating his design (the one which combines input stage current mirrors with the push-pull vas) on LTSpice and indeed encountered the issues he described (mainly the impossibility of setting the VAS current as it settles by itself at some microamps).

The other issues were: excessive dissipation at the beta-enhance emitter-follower and oscillations due to the lack of current in the VAS (especially if I put a cap across the VBE multiplier).

So I tried a method of forcefully setting the VAS current:

• Driving the base of a current mirror with the signal from the input stage
  • Using the transistor not responsible for setting the mirror current as the beta-enhance EF
  • And finally, using the voltage across the EF resistor (which is under a constant current) to set the VAS current

I'll be absolutely honest here: I pulled this circuit out of my ***, but the simulation didn't give me such bad results, so I wanted to know if I should even waste my time prototyping it despite its weirdness. (also because prototyping it will take a loooong time)

I'm attaching the phase/gain plots, THD measurements and a description, as well as a PDF schematic so you can see the components more clearly. I'm also attaching the .asc file.

I plan to use the same components simulated here except:

• VBE multiplier: I'll use a 2SC3807 instead of the BD139
  • Pre-drivers: I'll use a 2SC3423/2SA1360 instead of the BD139/BD140
  • Drivers: I'll use a 2SC5171/2SA1930 instead of the BD139/BD140

BA9fgnQ.png

fIPvyBI.png

hpu7g12.png

T2JQ4ev.png

Thank you very much.

Attachments

• circuit.pdf
    141.8 KB · Views: 225
  • Draft1.asc
    32 KB · Views: 151
Hi.