minimal class a amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I'm new on this forum, I'm not very experienced. I found this simple online scheme and I made it with recovery components. The sound is very good, does anyone have suggestions or improvements? The original components are referred to as 2sc5200 for power and 2sc4883 for the pilot.
Thank you

Attachments

• Schematic_Nuovo-progetto_Sheet-1_20190213095546.png
    Schematic_Nuovo-progetto_Sheet-1_20190213095546.png
    64 KB · Views: 752
I don't know about real A...My Pyle rack is A/B...one of those pretty Bubbly sounding ones too with dirt..that input is rocking a tlo84 that contributing...I'm gonna try to overfilter it....

And I don't know totally unmarked IC's and no schematic...

Home stereo like with just two 6800uf....that's still kinda LIGHT...we can go up to 10,000uf easy.

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
> do a simulation?

EasyEDA is supposed to have a simulator in it?

I have no doubt it works. The bias current is easily figured: voltage on 680r resistor, half, times hFE of the output devices. The center-point voltage looks very unstable: the input to the 'pilot' is about 400 Ohms, so a pot 100X bigger will be hypersensitive.

All the performance equations involve hFE. Current gain is hFE1*hFE2. hFE of parts with the *same* number on them may vary 3:1. So it will be hard to make two amplifiers come out the same.

It is reminiscent of the JLH, but without the input stage, so center-point bias and voltage gain are not as well controlled.

Sure looks like fun!

Attachments

• alephotos.gif
    alephotos.gif
    21.4 KB · Views: 335
www.hifisonix.com
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Compensate it and use an inductor to isolate the output load.

Try lowering the bias pot by 10x (input impedance down to 2k can easily be driven by most sources nowadays.