Anthem MRX 300 av receiver stuck in protect. Need help.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

My Anthem mrx 300 av receiver entered protection mode one day without apparent reason. When powering on, the relay clicks, then it says "AMP protection powering off" on the display after about four or five seconds.

I'm a speaker building hobbyist and don't know much about amps, but would like to have a crack at fixing it anyway. Help is much appreciated, but please: layman's terms :)

So far:

I've disconnected and reconnected several boards: no luck

Checked the output transistors with a multimeter on diode setting. They all seem fine.

Checked all the fuses I could see: all fine.

Then I turned my attention to the standby power board, because somebody had marked a few components there with a marker. An earlier repair maybe? There is a power output socket for the cable which goes to the dsp/analog input board. According to the info on the board, one pin should measure 5,6 vdc in standby (it does). Another pin should output 12v. However, when I measure it when powering on, I get only 7v.

Could this be the problem, or have I just stumbled on something minor and unrelated? And if it's the culprit, how do I fix it? If not, how do I continue the troubleshooting?

By the way: I tried finding the service manual online, but it's not available.

Thanks!

Still looking for help. Any advice that can point me in the right direction is appreciated.

Update on the situation: unsurprisingly there's unwanted voltage all over the output stage. I measure about 44v on the emitter pins of all transistors (the transistors themselves do check out though when tested on diode setting and I measure +55 v and -55 v consistently on the center pins). The same 44v is measured in the little white sockets that are apparently used in the factory to read out bias transistors.