Very Efficient Very Low Distortion Linear+ Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
...It has occurred to me to use some kind of self oscillation control loop on a buck converter power supply.
Seems this could solve the control problem of how to maintain Zero Volt Transitions as the load varies.
There are a few patents for this but I haven't had time to study them carefully.

I studied US4857822A - Zero-voltage-switched multi-resonant converters including the buck and forward type
- Google Patents
and now understand the problem better.
The variation in load doesn't necessarily mess up the ZVT but does result in increased back EMF on the switch MOSFET.
For a simple quasi-resonant circuit the stress on the FET increases in proportion to the load variation.
For an audio amp with 200 mA quiescent and 20 A peaks (600 W "RMS" into a <4 ohm subwoofer) that means 100x multiplication of the ~100 V supply.
Obviously not acceptable and I can't see how the control loop can fix this, so must have some kind of clamp.
Now I understand why there are so-called "Active Clamp" buck converters.
Anyone experienced with this?

David

For a simple quasi-resonant circuit the stress on the FET increases in proportion to the load variation...

Perhaps this problem is why quasi-resonant and multi-resonant circuits are still somewhat niche.
I had an idea to use a saturable inductor in the quasi-resonant circuit that sets up the ZVT.
Then if the load current increases the inductance drops and the inductive back EMF stays fairly constant.
Unlike the clamped circuit, this is fairly novel AFAIK.
Anyone seen this?
(Finally, a question where a lack of responses will be a compliment, implies it may be a new idea;))

...Only output mosfet power supply...float... I don't see the stray capacitance problem.

No, probably not a problem for you.