Denon 100Hz Hum AVR-2308

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all, this is my first time using the forum here. (apologies if my query is not suitable for this forum)
I have a fault somebody has asked me to look at with a Denon Avr2308.
The fault is an audible 100hz hum (230v/50hz mains here) visible on my oscilloscope.
The hum is apparent after some “on time” and warming up of around 20-40mins with all inputs/outputs disconnected and with a pair of 8ohm Kef speakers connected to the front L&R channels. 230v input is not earthed (double insulated/class 2)
I assumed the hum wouldve been the main filter caps, and have replaced 4 large caps (which hasnt solved the problem) I had a poke around before pulling them out and did notice very strangely that I can manipulate the fault by blowing beside the main filter caps, the hum will go, and after 5-10seconds gradually comes back. compressed air, breath, and Same with freeze spray.
Caps were tested when removed and read around 0.1ohm ESR, shouldve been more like 0.01 i wouldve thought, which is why i decided to replace but the fault is still there.
I will post a shot of the power supply schematic- Can anybody shed any light on why they are usuing an electrolytic from center tap to ground? rather than just tying it straight to ground?

Attachments

• 8BE6F63E-1C03-42D5-A7DA-D0FD7D55D21B.png
    8BE6F63E-1C03-42D5-A7DA-D0FD7D55D21B.png
    191.1 KB · Views: 80
  • 1184AEF4-5139-4C2E-96C2-643C1E8F116D.jpg
    1184AEF4-5139-4C2E-96C2-643C1E8F116D.jpg
    610.3 KB · Views: 76
So when you turn it on it's completely noiseless and after a 20-40 minutes it starts to hum, right?
First of all I would measure right after turn-on to check the good state: power rails, major GND points, critical currents, etc.
And after it goes to hum the same points. Maybe this can help to localize the problem.